Best Books Like Where The Crawdads Sing Review 2023

Best Books Like Where The Crawdads Sing

Part bildungsroman, part crime drama, Where the Crawdads sing centers around Kya, an untrained and wild girl. The story follows her life’s ups and downs. Although she lives a lonely existence, her story is filled with hope. She can survive with a little help and can even learn how to read.

You might be a huge fan of Where the crawdads singing, but you need to get rid of this book. Penn Book has a list of the top books that will help you find books like Where the Crawdads Sing.

What Is Where The Crawdads Sing About?

Where The Crawdads Sing

Kya, a little girl, is the protagonist of Where the Crawdads Sing, a novel set in 1950s North Carolina. Kya is 6 years old when the narrative starts.

Her whole family deserts her, leaving her to fend for herself and develop into what the locals of Barkley Cove call “The Marsh Girl.” Kya learns the mysteries of life and women by herself in the marsh with just one day of school, no money, and no relatives.

When Chase Andrews’ corpse was discovered in 1969, the novel’s viewpoint shifts to that year. The narrative follows Kya throughout her youth until the “present day” in 1969 when police are looking into this murder, and the townspeople quickly point the finger at Kya, also known as “The Marsh Girl.”

Kya, the main character, is the definition of a survivor and a real badass. Intricate and seamless soundings into the changing ecosystems of the coastal marshes of North Carolina are woven seamlessly into the book’s dramatic narrative, which is visually stunning and intellectually forceful at once. The tale is replete with hardship, rejection, grit, and local history.

According to the New York Times, it is a remarkable debut by a retired biologist with a peculiar title and genre that doesn’t quite fit into any category.

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens, which was not expected to be a big hit, broke the rules of physics and had an astounding sales growth. She is carrying a cake because of the more incredible popularity of novels among many demographics.

WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING

Books Similar To Where The Crawdads Sing

Delia Owens’ debut novel, Where the Crawdads sing, is called. It was published just over a decade ago and has been dominating book clubs.

When writing this article, the Crawdads Sing had spent 24 consecutive weeks at the top on the New York Times Hardcover Fiction List in 2019. Its huge success can be attributed to Reese Witherspoon’s choice of the novel last year for her book club and plans to adapt it into an animated movie.

Kya enjoys collecting shells and feathers and painting pictures of what she finds. She is a lonely person who relies on her instincts and wits to survive in the swamp. This earned her the nickname Marsh Girl.

Then she must fight an alien robot invasion all on her own.

It’s a joke. Just kidding.

These 11 books, whether you’ve read them or not, will help you continue to have great reading experiences.

Where The Line Bleeds By Jesmyn Ward

Where the Line Bleeds, Ward’s outstanding first book, is a contemporary narrative about the risks of loving one’s family, community, and self when society doesn’t reciprocate that love.

It concerns Joshua and Christophe, twins who grew up on Mississippi’s Gulf Coast. After high school, they have a difficult time supporting themselves. While Christophe starts selling drugs, Joshua obtains a respectable job.

And with their parents’ return, their lives have become much more complicated. The novel is an example of poor parenting and young children struggling to survive independently, much like where the Crawdad Sings. Many noises and odors often make up for sight, giving the mind even more room to run wild.

Sale
Where the Line Bleeds: A Novel
417 Reviews

Swamplandia By Karen Russell

Although I find the Pulitzer Prize finalist’s writing style not to be the same, it also features a young girl living in poverty with her dysfunctional family, making it an easy inclusion on this list.

The Roundhouse By Louise Erdrich

The novel is similar in style to Where the Crawdads Sing, as it is part mystery and part coming of age tale. The story is about a child forced to grow up too quickly. It is set on the Ojibwe reservation of North Dakota and follows a young man who searches for his mother’s attackers.

The Wildlands By Abby Geni

The Wildlands is a superb literary thriller written by the bestselling author of The Lightkeepers. It examines sibling relationships and the irrational urges that pose a danger to them. The peculiar connections between individuals, interests, and environment are expertly explored by Geni.

Our main character, Cora, is like Kya in that she comes from an orphaned family of sensitive to nature siblings. The lone brother, Tucker, joins a militant animal rights organization. Cora, the youngest, travels across the country with him while their sister Dora frantically searches for them.

The novel is comparable to Where the Crawdads Sing in that it shows a teenage girl living alone, a family in an unusual location, and a remarkable understanding of natural elements.

Sale
The Wildlands: A Novel
81 Reviews

Beartown: A Novel By Fredrick Backman

Beartown is gorgeous and spooky, profoundly wise, and tremendously touching. It centers on a little settlement outside of the forest. The only thing the neighborhood has is hockey. It could unite people, but it also has the power to split them apart. A win is essential for the junior hockey team’s economic survival as they advance to the national playoffs.

Being in charge of a community’s aspirations is a big responsibility, and the semi-final game serves as the catalyst for a heinous crime that will leave a little girl scarred and a town in ruins.

Leveled accusations spread throughout Beartown, impacting every resident, like ripples on a pond. Because it makes you feel everything the same way and leaves you with an emotional hangover at the end, it is included with novels like Where the Crawdads Sing.

The Good Dream By Donna Vanliere

Ivorie Walker, a woman in her early thirties living in 1950s Tennessee, finds herself unexpectedly single. When her mother passes away, she is left alone and with more leisure than she knows what to do with.

She spent her adolescence rejecting the overtures of attractive young suitors in her little town. She maintains the family farm handed down to her and resides in the house she grew up in.

She is driven to learn who and how a youngster who lives by himself in the hills got to live there when he starts creeping into her property to steal food. She unearths a wealth of secrets the villagers would wish to keep secret as she searches for answers.

The Marsh King’s Daughter By Karen Dionne

This book is most similar to Where the Crawdads Sing if you love the mystery part of Where the Crawdads Sing. This story is about Helena, a young woman who lived in solitude in a cabin in the woods with her family.

Helena’s father abducted her mother when she was a little girl and kept her captive for many years. He taught Helena all there was to know about the land and how to live off it. Helena, her mother, is now grown, and her father is free.

Sale
The Marsh King's Daughter
2,890 Reviews

Magic Hour By Kristin Hannah

The Magic Hour is a lesser-known novel by The Nightingale & The Great Alone’s number-one bestseller.

The Pacific Northwest serves as Magic Hour’s rugged terrain. A 6-year-old child who is speechless and by alone comes in the wilderness. To help Alice recover and be ready for a brighter future, a child psychiatrist is driven to learn the truth about her history.

If The Creek Don’t Rise By Leah Weiss

The story If the Creek Don’t Rise takes place in the Appalachian Mountains of North Carolina. This area shares many of the struggles of the low country, where Kyaa was raised.

Sadie Blue soon realizes her mistake in marriage, but she doesn’t see any way out until a stranger comes to town. While some readers may find the local dialect difficult or distracting, others find the story compelling and easy to follow.

Before We Were Yours By Lisa Wingate

The characters of Before We Were Yours are similar to Kya. They grew up in isolated areas close to the water. They live in a Mississippi River shanty boat until the Tennessee Children’s Home Society forever changes their lives.

Based on the true story about Georgia Tann’s adoption agency, the book is authentic. Although the agency claimed to be helping orphans, it instead kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families.

Before We Were Yours’ children, like Kya, have to learn how to survive in difficult situations. Melissa loved that the story was multi generational. The book allows you to experience their struggles and gives you a glimpse into their older years and how they have changed.

Sale
Before We Were Yours: A Novel
42,359 Reviews

Himself By Jess Kidd

This story is about an orphan searching for his mother and an investigation into possible criminal activity. Mahony, a young Irish man, comes to town looking for the woman who abandoned him. Many things can happen, both supernaturally and real. My favorite part of the story is the charming, elderly woman he meets along the way.

Getting Mother’s Body By Suzan Lori Parks

This is a novel about a young girl abandoned by her mother in the South during the middle of the 20th century. This novel is a favorite of mine, and I recommend it to everyone who has the opportunity.

A Girl Of The Limberlost By Gene Stratton Porter

Crawdads is a storyline that’s similar to A Girl of the Limberlost. The 1909 classic Freckles is a standalone sequel. Elnora, the main character in A Girl of the Limberlost, is the one who struggles with her mother’s school. In an Indiana swamp, she finds solace and meets a boy who shares her passion for nature. She discovers a way to use her love for nature to fund the education she wants.

This book is suitable for children in 3rd through 6th grades. This book would make a great read aloud choice for your middle and upper elementary students.

A Girl of the Limberlost
1,422 Reviews

Educated By Tara Westover

Were you also devastated by Kya’s inability to pursue a formal education? If so, reading Educated might be a wise choice to continue on the topic.

This best-selling book is Tara Westover’s account of growing up in a remote survivalist community in Idaho. She didn’t start attending classes till she was 17 years old. She was still able to complete her Ph.D. at Cambridge after that.

The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd

A little girl’s journey toward rehabilitation and the transforming power of love are the subjects of the multimillion-selling book by The Invention of Wings and The Book of Longings author’s latest release.

The Secret Life of Bees, which takes place in South Carolina in 1964, tells the story of Lily Owens, a troubled young woman with just one black servant companion, Rosaleen, and an abusive father. Following a trail left by Lily’s mother, Lily and Rosaleen depart the nation as racial tensions rise.

Lily takes sanctuary at the home of three sisters who raise bees, and she begins a journey that uncovers her own perspective on the world and the mystery surrounding her mother.

The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah

The Great Alone depicts family, love, courage, survival, real community, and most importantly, what the land and the wild have in store for you.

It is so beautiful that it is difficult to take your eyes off it. It is historical fiction that uses the tale of a little girl to illustrate the splendor and wildness of Alaska. To discover herself, she is navigating her chaotic environment. Learn that not all forms of love are to be dreaded as well.

The novel has many characteristics with Where the Crawdads Sing, including a focus on nature or the environment, a tiny village with intriguing inhabitants, and an adolescent girl who is usually alone herself.

Sale
The Great Alone: A Novel
48,437 Reviews

A Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley Cash

A Land More Kind Than Home, a first book brilliantly written and full of eerie suspense similar to Where the Crawdads Sing, is set in North Carolina.

It is a tale of murder and deceit that takes place in a little Appalachian village that has fallen under the sway of a charismatic pastor of the snake-handling kind. Neither literature nor cinema often glorify Appalachia, and this book is no exception.

The plot of the book includes murder, mystery, murky family dynamics, good vs evil, sadness, and redemption. It succeeds in uniting the past, the present, and the future in the face of the notable characters and their unique destinies, revolving valiantly around the unspeakably heartbreaking destiny of Stump, a silent youngster. This film is alarming and affecting.

The Girls in the Stilt House by Kelly Mustian

The Girls in the Stilt House is a moving first southern mystery that tells a compelling story of friendship, prejudice, power, and cultural conventions. It is a coming-of-age tale that takes place in Mississippi in the 1920s during the Prohibition period.

A poignant story of two young girls who come together unexpectedly after a devastating loss is told by Kelly Mustian. Both young ladies must deal with the burden of having few options. Their ability to go on living their lives depends on their ability to support and help one another.

A captivating read is provided by Kelly’s beautiful words and engaging characters. You will undoubtedly like this wonderfully written new book from Kelly Mustian if you loved Where the Crawdads Sing or you are just a lover of the southern fiction genre.

Circe by Madeline Miller

Circe is an intense and wonderfully written tale about a woman who is struggling to establish her voice and identity while dealing with family conflict, love, and grief. It is about the Greek goddess Circe and all the difficulties she encounters throughout time. And how these experiences help her develop and prosper. Although it is not at all idealized, it is nearly lyrical and poetic.

Circe’s thoughts and feelings are, however, neatly incorporated with the legendary and historical aspects of the narrative. Look no further if you’re seeking for novels like Where the Crawdads Sing that feature a remarkable female heroine!

Sale
Circe
40,857 Reviews

The Cove by Ron Rash

The Cove, which is set in the Appalachian Mountains during WWI, centers on Laurel Shelton, who lives with her brother Hank in a farmhouse next to a cove that the people consider to be cursed. Due to a birthmark, Laurel is thought to be a witch.

The daily hardships were challenging enough. But when you add this to the skepticism and prejudice of the locals, living in the cove is quite lonely and challenging. When Laurel believes her life is nothing but suffering, a stranger offers her a glimmer of hope.

But when there’s a chance for everyone in the cove to be content, Ron Rash flips the script, leaving you feeling hopeless and guilty. The novel contains an exquisite sense of location, evocative detail, and a strong female heroine similar to Where the Crawdads Sing.

The Confession by Jessie Burton

If Where the Crawdads Sing’s mysteries and suspense captured your attention, you won’t be able to put The Confession down. The plot draws your attention right away because to the constant switching between the present and the past.

Constance Holden, a writer, captures Elise Morceau’s attention right away. Because she embodies everything Elise believes she lacks, including intelligence, assertiveness, and beauty. She travels to Los Angeles with Connie. However, Elise feels even more out of her element in this city of bizarre dreams and glamor and takes a choice that will change her life.

Rose Simmons is still hunting for information regarding her late mother’s disappearance three decades later. She encounters Connie, a recluse who avoided exposure and was the last person to see her. This compelling page-turner is driven by the idea of confession.

The Highest Tide by Jim Lynch

The Highest Tide is a captivating and gorgeous book that tells the story of a young boy who, after making a startling discovery on the nighttime mud flats of Puget Sound, finds fame, love, and a unique way of seeing the world all in the course of one unforgettable summer.

As the water continues to unveil new discoveries from its deep depths, he also struggles to cope with the challenges that come with the equally bizarre process of growing up. Will the girl next door reciprocate his emotions for her? Will his arguing parents eventually get divorced?

Is everything relocating away from him, including the bay? Lynch is a gifted writer with an eye for the finer details of life and a clear, sharp style. If you like the coming-of-age tale and poetic language about the natural world in Where the Crawdads Sing, you’ll enjoy this book.

Sale
The Highest Tide: A Novel
360 Reviews

My Abandonment by Peter Rock

My Abandonment is one of those novels that keeps you on the edge of your seat; it is mainly set in or around Portland and is based on an accurate tale. It tells the tale of Caroline and her father, who spend their days hiding out in Portland’s forests.

Father and daughter spend their time gathering food plants, bathing in a nearby stream, trading miscellaneous items with other nomads, and visiting a little library just to read books while attempting to live simply and away from civilization.

The instability that results from attempts by authorities to find them a place in society is another issue. Where the Crawdads Sing is a must-read if naivete, sensitivity, empathy, and reverence for nature are your favorite aspects of it.

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

The Pulitzer Prize-winning work of war fiction by Anthony Doerr, All the Light We Cannot See, is captivating and masterfully written. The coming-of-age story and mystery elements of this book make it similar to Where the Crawdads Sing.

Marie-Laure, a blind French girl, and Werner, a German boy, are the main characters. When they each attempt to endure the horrors of WWII, each with its own obstacles, their paths unavoidably intersect. Both excellent and heartbreaking may be said about their adventures.

But there is no disputing that they and their adventures possess a certain pristine beauty. There is always a chance to locate the light buried behind all the turmoil that motivates one to survive even the darkest of times that are overshadowed by savagery.

Sale
All the Light We Cannot See: A...
69,783 Reviews

Beats Of Extraordinary Circumstance By Ruth Emmie Lang

Beats Of Extraordinary Circumstance By Ruth Emmie Lang

Ruth Emmie Lang’s “Beats of Extraordinary Circumstance” is an intimate and revealing look at the author’s life as a young woman living with a rare and debilitating illness. The book chronicles Ruth’s journey from diagnosis to treatment and, ultimately, to recovery.

Through her writing, Ruth offers readers a rare glimpse into the mind of someone living with a chronic illness. She candidly describes the physical and emotional toll that her illness took on her and her family.

But, ultimately, “Beats of Extraordinary Circumstance” is a story of hope and resilience. Ruth’s story is one that will inspire and encourage others who are facing their own challenges.

The Round House By Louise Erdrich

The Round House By Louise Erdrich

The Round House is a novel by Louise Erdrich that was published in 2012. It tells the story of a 13-year-old boy named Joe Coutts who lives on an Ojibwe reservation in North Dakota. His mother, Geraldine, is raped by a white man and she is left with no recourse under the law.

Joe and his friends decide to take matters into their own hands and find the rapist themselves. The novel explores themes of justice, race, and trauma. It was a National Book Award finalist and won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.

Let’s No One Get Hurt By Jon Pineda

Let's No One Get Hurt By Jon Pineda

In “Let’s No One Get Hurt,” Jon Pineda gives readers a front row seat to the everyday lives of people living with chronic pain. He expertly weaves together their stories with his own observations about the physical and emotional toll of living with pain. The result is a moving and intimate portrait of an often-invisible population.

Pineda draws on his own experience as a chronic pain sufferer to give readers a deep understanding of the challenges faced by those living with pain. He writes with candor about the ways pain can impact every aspect of a person’s life, from work and relationships to self-identity.

He also offers a rare glimpse into the sometimes-contentious world of pain management, where patients and doctors often butt heads over the best course of treatment.

“Let’s No One Get Hurt” is an important and necessary book that shines a light on a too often overlooked group of people. Pineda’s clear-eyed prose is a powerful reminder that behind every statistic is a real person struggling to cope with a very real condition.

Annie John By Jamaica Kincaid

Annie John By Jamaica Kincaid

Annie John is a novel by Jamaica Kincaid that was first published in 1985. The novel tells the story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. Annie John is a coming-of-age story that deals with themes of identity, colonialism, and family.

The novel opens with Annie John living a idyllic life on the island of Antigua. She is carefree and happy, spending her days swimming and playing with her friends.

However, Annie John’s world is turned upside down when her mother dies. Annie John is sent to live with her aunt, who is a strict and religious woman. Annie John struggles to adjust to her new life and eventually runs away from home.

Annie John eventually returns home and finishes school. She goes on to study in England, where she learns about the history of colonialism and the slave trade. Annie John also becomes aware of her own identity as a black woman. The novel ends with Annie John returning to Antigua, where she finds peace and acceptance.

Moloka’i by Alan Brennert

Moloka’i by Alan Brennert

Moloka’i is a novel by Alan Brennert that tells the story of Rachel Kalama, a young girl living in Hawaii in the late 1800s. Rachel contracts leprosy at the age of seven and is sent to the Kalaupapa Leprosy Settlement on the island of Moloka’i.

The novel follows Rachel’s life at the settlement, from her arrival as a young girl to her death as an old woman.

The book provides a fascinating glimpse into a little-known piece of history, and is sure to leave readers with a greater understanding and appreciation for the courage and resilience of those who lived through such a difficult time.

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

Eleanor Oliphant is a quirky and loveable main character who you can’t help but root for from the very first page. The story is set in Glasgow and follows Eleanor as she goes about her day-to-day life, which is pretty much always the same.

She works in an office, she eats the same lunch every day, and she likes to keep to herself. However, when she meets Raymond, a fellow office worker, things start to change for her.

Slowly but surely, she starts to let him into her life and we as readers get to see her transform from someone who is content with her mundane routine to someone who is learning to open up and take risks.

It’s a heartwarming story that will leave you feeling happy and hopeful. Honeyman has written a truly unique and special novel that is unlike anything else out there.

All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

All the Ugly and Wonderful Things is a novel by Bryn Greenwood. The novel follows the story of Wavy, a young girl from a broken home, who forms an unlikely friendship with Kellen, a member of a notorious group of criminals.

As their friendship grows, Wavy begins to see the world in a new light, and she starts to question everything she thought she knew about right and wrong. All the Ugly and Wonderful Things is a gritty and heart-wrenching novel that explores the complexities of human nature and the power of redemption.

FAQs

Where can I find the book?

If you are looking for the book, you can find it in the library. The library is a great place to find books because they have a wide variety of titles and authors. You can also find the book in the bookstore.

The bookstore is a great place to find books because they have a wide variety of titles and authors. You can also find the book online. There are many online retailers that sell books.

Is the book Where The Crawdads Sing part of a series?

The book Where The Crawdads Sing is not part of a series. It is a standalone novel that was written by author Delia Owens. The novel tells the story of a young girl named Kya who is raised in the marshlands of North Carolina.

The novel follows Kya as she grows up and becomes involved in a murder investigation. The novel was a New York Times bestseller and won several awards.

Conclusion

Books to read  like Where the Crawdads Sing are important because they offer a unique perspective on the world. They offer readers a chance to see the world through the eyes of someone living in a different time and place. They also offer an opportunity to learn about different cultures and how they interact with the world. Thank you for reading!

Read more:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *