How Many Lord Of The Rings Books Are There? Best 2022

How Many Lord Of The Rings Books Are There

Even though the Lord of the Rings trilogy can be tedious and long, it is well worth the effort. You will miss so much of the story if you skip the movies. There are side stories, fascinating tidbits, and a lot more to it than you can see in the movies. How Many Lord Of The Rings Books Are There? Penn Book has the best information on this fantasy series.

About The Lord of the Rings

J.R.R. Tolkien wrote The Lord of the Rings, an epic fantasy novel of high fantasy. Tolkien’s story was later made into a trilogy. The story started as a sequel to Tolkien’s earlier fantasy book The Hobbit and quickly grew into a larger story.

It was written in stages from 1937 to 1949. Much of it was written during World War II. It has been reprinted many times and translated into at most 38 languages since then, making it one of the most beloved works in 20th-century literature.

The Lord of the Rings takes place in the fictional past of Numenor, the author’s conception of the real Earth. Humans inhabit it, but the action takes place in the present. [3] Tolkien gave the setting a modern English name, Middle-earth. This is a rendering from the Old English Middangeard.

The Lord of the Rings

How Many Lord Of The Rings Books Are There?

Due to post-war paper shortages and to keep the cost of the first volume low, the book was split into three volumes: The Fellowship of the Ring: Book I and II, The Two Towers: Books III and IV, and The Return of the King: Books V and VI, plus six appendices. These were published in the United Kingdom on 21 July 1954, 11 Nov 1954, and 20 October 1955, respectively, due to delays in producing maps, appendices, and indices. They were slightly later in the United States.

The Return of the King was particularly delayed. Tolkien did not like the title The Return of the King because it revealed too much of the storyline. His publishers rejected his original suggestion of War of the Ring.



Bilbo: Frodo’s uncle who was the first to own the ring. Bilbo is a cheerful, happy-go-lucky, and playful hobbit who has lived his entire life in the Shire. Although he didn’t realize that his ring was the source of great power, he has become a maniac and has begun to turn as a result.

Frodo: is the main protagonist in the series. He is the ring bearer. He is a young hobbit who keeps the ring to return to Mordor. The strong temptation of the ring to its bearer makes him weak. He refuses to drop the ring in Mount Doom and instead steps back to keep it. We feel sorry for him, as he fails to be a true hero in many scenes. We can’t give him credit for the destruction of the ring in the end.

Gandalf: The great wizard who runs the entire trilogy. Gandalf was the one who discovered the dangers and powers of the ring and kept Bilbo & Frodo safe from the unknown. Gandalf is also a remarkable example of courage and wisdom. The best scenes in the novel are those of Gandalf’s battle with Saruman at Moria. He transforms into a white wizard out of the grey, which shocks everyone. He is often playful but also worries about the future.

Sam: Sam is Frodo’s best friend. He is Frodo’s best friend and takes care of him throughout the whole story. He is a true gentleman. He is pure and unaffected by the call of the ring. Frodo continues to suffer from greed for the ring. Sam, however, is there to support him and keep him upright during the difficult journey.

Aragorn: is the rightful king of Gondor. He lives as a ranger and keeps his identity secret. He is a pure-hearted supporter of the noble cause to destroy the ring and save the middle Earth. He doesn’t want to keep the ring, but he will use its power to regain control of his throne. His love story with Arwen, an elf princess, gives the story a romantic twist. He is declared the king in Gondor at the end of the novel.

Gollum: This is the most entertaining character in the series. The wretched swamp mad to get the ring back. He was an innocent hobbit called Smeagle before he found the ring. But, after being affected by its evil, he became a disgusting, skinny, and creepy creature named ‘Gollum’. If he kept the ring, he could be Frodo’s example.

He has one motto: to get the ring back by hook, by crook. He can kill and destroy anyone to accomplish his goal. Frodo and Sam follow Gollum to Mordor. However, he is suspect to be the wrong person until the end. He is always on the lookout for any opportunity to steal Frodo’s ring. He is the real victim of the ring, and we wouldn’t tell you if the ring gets returned to him.

Saruman: A wizard who was with Sauron. Gandalf’s old friend later joins the dark army due to his greed for power and Sauron’s fear. He tried to stop Gandalf’s help in the Fellowship of the Ring. He can create endless numbers of Uruk-nai monsters to terrorize the middle Earth using his power.

Legolas: This young elf was a part of the fellowship. His bow and arrow skills are amazing. He is a loyal, intelligent and caring person who serves the fellowship until the end.

Film Series: The incredible trilogy The Lord of the Rings was later made into a series of films. The series is based on the novel and includes The Fellowship of the Ring (2001), The Two Towers ((2002), The Return of the King (2004). These movies have been among the top grosser worldwide at the box office. The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (2012), and The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (2013) are the latest installments. They are based on Bilbo Baggins’ story. The Return of the King received 11 Oscars from 11 nominations in the year it was released.

About the Author: John Ronald Reuel Tolkien, an English poet, and writer was a university professor. His most famous works are The Lord of the Rings, Silmarillion, and The Hobbit. From 1945 to 1959, he was also a member of the Oxford University. The Times placed him sixth on its 2008 list of the “50 best English writers since 1945”. Forbes ranked him 5th among the top-earning writers in 2009.

What are you waiting for? This would be a great way to get started for new Tolkien fans and readers interested in the beautiful journey into the middle Earth. You might find it a great teacher, teaching you lessons through various characters. It will amaze you with its unusual writing style and complete fantasy.


Is Lord of the Rings the best book ever?

Susan Jeffreys, a reporter for the (London Sunday Times), informed a colleague in January 1997 that J.R.R. In a poll of readers conducted by Channel 4 in Britain and Waterstone’s bookstore chain, “The Lord of the Rings”, Tolkien’s epic fantasy was voted the best book of the 20th Century.

How old is Gandalf?

Gandalf lived in Middle-earth for 219 years. He was un-aged and appeared as a grey-bearded, approximately 60-year-old human. As a Maia, however, he lived at most 9000 years before Middle Earth existed. His real age is, therefore, close to 11,000 years.

Do I need to read the Hobbit before LOTR?

Yes, it would help if you read The Hobbit first. It was the first to be released and introduced Gandalf, Bilbo, and it is an easy way to learn about Tolkien’s writing style and other details. While reading “The Hobbit”, while it is not essential to understanding “The Lord of the Rings”, would help you understand Middle Earth.

Is LOTR worth reading?

Even though the Lord of the Rings trilogy can be tedious and long, it is well worth the effort. You will miss so much if you skip the movies and side stories.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.