How Many Books In The Catholic Bible – The Truth Finally Revealed! [Best 2024]

How Many Books In The Catholic Bible

Many Christians don’t take reading their Bibles seriously, even though I teach it in the context of both the university and the church. How many books in Old Testament, how many books in New Testament, and How Many Books Are In The Catholic Bible? The article below will provide you with complete knowledge of the books of the Catholic Bible from Penn Book.

How Many Books In The Catholic Bible?

The Catholic Bible is a sacred text for catholic Christians. It is published under Catholic canon law. It contains 46 books from the old testament, 27 books from the new testament, making it 73 books of the Bible.

The deuterocanonical book is the Greek Septuagint Collection used to create the book of the Old Testament. It doesn’t contain a collection of Masoretic Hebrew text. It is translated from all Hebrew and Aramaic languages as well as Greek languages.

Many stories, texts, and incidents are found in it, which are called god’s words. There are many books in the library, including wisdom books, prophetic and historical books, revelations, etc. These parts include stories that guide their followers, stories about Christ, and books that contain direct words from the gods.

There are many other translations available in English. Some examples of English-translated versions of the catholic Bible include Knox Bible, Douay-Rheims Bible, and Jerusalem Bible. The Council of Trent still believes Vulgate is the official translation of the Bible.

Many other bible versions were created over time, including the protestant Bible. However, it retained the same form as when it was first made.

The Catholic Bible

The Bible: 66 books vs 73 and Why (the “Apocrypha” Explained)

Let’s start by agreeing to disagree. Below is a list of 7 books that Catholics include and that Protestants don’t.

  1. Tobit
  2. Judith
  3. Wisdom (also called the Wisdom of Solomon)
  4. Sirach (also called Ecclesiasticus)
  5. Baruch
  6. 1 Maccabees
  7. 2 Maccabees
See also  Why Do I Get Sleepy When I Read? Best Guide & Tips [2022]

Additional passages are also found in the Catholic Bible’s books of Esther and Daniel. It is important to remember that both the Catholic and Protestant New Testaments have identical content. Both contain the same 27 books.

Why Do The Catholics Use These 7 Books?

According to Catholic sources, there were two major canons that governed the Old Testament during the time of Christ. The first was the Palestinecanon, which is identical to that of the Protestant Old Testament. The second was called the Alexandrian Canon and was the Septuagint.

According to Catholics, the Bible Christ and his Apostles used was the Septuagint or the Alexandrian Canon. The Septuagint (or Hebrew Scriptures) is a Greek translation of the Hebrew Scriptures (our Old Testament).

Catholics believe that the Septuagint includes the additional seven books that are the subject of this article.

The following quote comes from The New Advent Catholic Encyclopedia, published in 1907. It was awarded a Nihil Obstat from a Doctor in Sacred Theology and an Imprimatur from an Archbishop. The full text of this article can be found here.

These additional Scriptures were conveyed into the Catholic Church through the ancient Greek Old Testament, also known as the Septuagint. The Septuagint was the Bible of Hellenist or Greek speaking Jews, whose intellectual center was Alexandria.

The Catholics believe that the Septuagint was Christ’s Bible. It is simple logic: “If it was good enough to Christ, it’s good enough to us.”

If you believe Christ used Septuagint, that’s a valid argument. Both sides have evidence, which we’ll examine later.

See also  Abridged vs Unabridged Audio Books: Best Comparison [2022]

What Are The 73 Books In The Bible: Catholic Bible Books In Order

Old Testament

How Many Books Are In The Catholic Old Testament?

The Catholic Old Testament consists of 46 books, 39 of which are shared with the Hebrew Bible. The remaining 7 books are considered apocryphal by Protestants.

Old Testament

  1. Genesis
  2. Exodus
  3. Leviticus
  4. Numbers
  5. Deuteronomy
  6. Joshua
  7. Judges
  8. Ruth
  9. 1 Samuel
  10. 2 Samuel
  11. 1 Kings
  12. 2 Kings
  13. 1 Chronicles
  14. 2 Chronicles
  15. Ezra
  16. Nehemiah
  17. Tobit
  18. Judith
  19. Esther
  20. 1 Maccabees
  21. 2 Maccabees
  22. Job
  23. Psalms
  24. The Proverbs
  25. Ecclesiastes
  26. The Song of Songs
  27. Wisdom
  28. Ecclesiasticus / Sirach
  29. Isaiah
  30. Jeremiah
  31. Lamentations
  32. Baruch
  33. Ezekiel
  34. Daniel
  35. Hosea
  36. Joel
  37. Amos
  38. Obadiah
  39. Jonah
  40. Micah
  41. Nahum
  42. Habakkuk
  43. Zephaniah
  44. Haggai
  45. Zechariah
  46. Malachi

Relate: How Many Books Were Removed From The Bible?

New Testament

How Many Books In New Testament Catholic Bible?

The New Testament of the Catholic Bible contains 27 books. This includes the four Gospels, the Acts of the Apostles, the Epistles, and the Book of Revelation.

New Testament

  1. Matthew
  2. Mark
  3. Luke
  4. John
  5. Acts of Apostles
  6. Romans
  7. 1 Corinthians
  8. 2 Corinthians
  9. Galatians
  10. Ephesians
  11. Philippians
  12. Colossians
  13. 1 Thessalonians
  14. 2 Thessalonians
  15. 1 Timothy
  16. 2 Timothy
  17. Titus
  18. Philemon
  19. Hebrews
  20. James
  21. 1 Peter
  22. 2 Peter
  23. 1 John
  24. 2 John
  25. 3 John
  26. Jude
  27. Revelation

Read more the New Testament books in order to get more in-depth information.

FAQs About Number Of Books In The Catholic Bible

Apocrypha Or Deuterocanonical?

These seven books are referred to by both their names, which is quite an unimportant side note. Apocrypha is hidden, and deuterocanonical means second canon. Although Deuterocanonical books might be more correct, they are still referred to as both. They were called apocryphal by several early Catholic saints and church fathers.

See also  How Many Goosebumps Books Are There 2024? Best Update

“Infallibly” Part Of The Canon

Catholicism claims to be infallible in moral and faith matters. Infallible is devoid of the possibility that you might be wrong. Officially, the Catholic Church declared the seven books in dispute to be part of the Bible. If the Catholic Church is infallible, it’s pointless to continue studying because they can’t be mistaken.

Why were books removed from the Catholic Bible?

These texts might not have been included in the Canon for a variety of reasons. These texts may not have been well-known to many people, or their content might not be compatible with the Bible’s other books. These books are found in the Old Testament of Roman Catholic Bibles.

Can Catholics read the Bible?

Catholics, like other Christians, can now hear, see, sing and pray the Bible. This multifaceted immersion in scripture has been made possible by technology and social media.

Why do Catholics pray the rosary?

Catholics believe that the Rosary provides a way to overcome severe trials, temptations, and hardships in life. They also believe it is one of the greatest weapons available to them to fight against all evil.

Read more: Why Did Martin Luther Remove 7 Books From The Bible? Best [2022]


The Catholic Bible contains 73 books, which is a substantial amount compared to other versions of the Bible. This collection of books provides readers with a vast source of guidance and wisdom from God, and it serves as a reminder that Jesus is the cornerstone of our faith. The Catholic Bible is an invaluable resource and should be studied and cherished by all believers.